Rectors of Dauntsey Church

Taken from the Rectors List on display in the church, and updated
1297John de HulleJohn de Hulle was instituted before the year 1297 but dates before that time are not recoverable
1303Walter de ColshulleMade Archdeacon of Wiltshire in the same year.
1303Peter de Colshulle
1323Nicholas Walrand
1326Thomas de Daunteseye
1332Robert de Daunteseye
1347Peter de Daunteseye
1360Robert Gerethorp
1376Nicholas Perkyn
1379Richard Scut
1393Nicholas Steere
1405William Cervyngton
1418Walter Leye
1420John Fairest
1432William Bristow
1465John Jonys
1503John Danyell
1508Richard Walker
1517John Gardyner
1547John Robynson
1611Elias Woodroofe
1642Richard Chessire
1659Robert DavenantActual date in institution is uncertain as the Bishop’s Register is deficient from 1648 to 1660
1674William Clement
1712Lawrence Brodrick
1713Joseph Trapp
1722Peter Rival
1730Thomas Burgess
1750Robert Atkins
1757Francis Marias West
1800George Bissett
1824George Augustus Biedermann
1859William Edward Elwell
1875Arthur Law
1915Arthur Robert Law
1924William Henry Tozer
1938Thomas Curgenven Robinson
1961Godfrey Charles Wallis
1972George Edward Boocock
1974Christopher Lang Sutch
1987 – 2012Derek OrmstonAlso Chaplain to New College Swindon, retired 2012. Doom Board restored during his incumbency
2014 – presentStephen WilkinsonBEng, DipTh, Ridley Hall Cambridge. Initially Priest-in-Charge. First Rector of the Woodbridge Benefice (Dauntsey. Brinkworth, Garsdon, Great Somerford, Little Somerford, Lea) from 2016
Notes: – The Bishops’ Register is lost from 1584 to 1591 and from 1597 to 1598. – The above dates were extracted from the Bishop’s Register of the Diocese of Sarum (Salisbury) with the exception of the later ones which are to be found in the Parish Registers.